Hillsong UNITED – Zion (Review)

Hillsong UNITED – Zion (Review)

Hillsong United Zion


Hillsong Music Australia

Released February 26, 2013

Reviewed by Emily Kjonaas

Hillsong UNITED  - Zion (Amazon MP3/iTunes/Amazon MP3 Deluxe/iTunes Deluxe)

When people are asked to name a worship band, most people are quick to mention Hillsong UNITED, and with good reason. This band from an Australian church has made a name for themselves all around the world. Their newest release, Zion, is their 3rd studio project.

If you’re a fan of worship albums, then this one is for you. Hillsong UNITED will easily help lead you to a place of worship, which in the end is their goal. You’re easily able to lose track of time. However, some of the songs on Zion are a bit too long. For instance, track number 4, “Oceans (Where Feet May Fall)” is a nearly 9-minute song. Though the lyrics that have been the cry of my own soul recently: ‘Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander; and my faith will be made stronger; in the presence of my Savior’. I just feel like this song could have been cut down as I found myself wondering when the next song was going to be playing about 3.5 minutes in.

It was kind of interesting to note that “Zion” is an interlude at number 9 on this record. To name an interlude is unheard of in itself, but to name the album after it is very interesting. But I really love instrumentals so I’m okay with this.

By the time I got to the end of Zion, I was pretty tired of listening to music. I am a fan of Hillsong UNITED but this got to be a bit long of an album, even without the deluxe tracks. They close out the standard version with “King Of Heaven”, another personal favorite that is a song of praise to Christ: “Emmanuel, God with us; Emmanuel, Hallelujah”.

Hillsong UNITED fans will not be disappointed with Zion and this is a great worship album that will help you keep your focus on Christ. If you’re someone that likes to listen to great worship music on a long car ride, or even during the day at home, you will enjoy Hillsong UNITED’s newest offering: Zion.


Score: 3.5/5

Track List:

  1. Relentless
  2. Up In Arms
  3. Scandal Of Grace
  4. Oceans (Where Feet May Fall)
  5. Stay And Wait
  6. Mercy Mercy
  7. Love Is War
  8. Nothing Like Your Love
  9. Zion (Interlude)
  10. Heartbeats
  11. A Million Suns
  12. Tapestry
  13. King Of Heaven
  14. Arise (Deluxe)
  15. Mountain (Deluxe)
  16. Mercy Mercy (Deluxe)
  17. Oceans (Where Feet May Fall) (Deluxe)
  18. Stay And Wait (Deluxe)

About Emily Kjonaas

Emily Kjonaas is from Moorhead, MN and is a reviewer for Christian Music Zine. Her favorite Christian band is Kutless and loves attending concerts. She is studying to be a nurse and loves her job as a caregiver. More Posts

5 Comments to “Hillsong UNITED – Zion (Review)”

  1. I completely disagree with this review. As someone who normally doesn’t listen to CCM i absolutely love this album.

  2. I haven’t had the time to listen to this one, but Hillsong albums do tend to run a bit long don’t they?

    • Anthony Peronto // March 4, 2013 at 8:49 am // Reply

      Yeah they do typically run long. But then again I wouldn’t really know about their recent albums because I haven’t bought a Hillsong album for years since I grew out listening to CCM.

  3. Totally totally disagree with this review. If you love worship & music you don’t want it to end. A team of musicians so talented is such a treat that they release an album “so long” yet so rich is new tones and lyrics that are all pushing the Boundries beyond the typical boring worship music that everyone is producing today. This is a creative master piece, enjoy it, let it encourage you to push Boundries and not settle with what everyone else is doing.

  4. brenmclean // March 3, 2013 at 9:19 pm // Reply

    Love the new electronic soundscape, which breaks new ground from a Christian (although not from a mainstream) perspective. It’s reminiscent of classic synth bands New Order, Pet Shop Boys, Human League etc.
    Oceans is the standout track for mine, with a haunting melody and beautiful vocal from Taya Smith. Lyrically, Zion is rich and poetic, although only a couple of songs will translate to a congregational setting (including Scandal Of Grace)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: