Deluge – Swell (Review)

Deluge – Swell (Review)

Integrity Music

Release Date: April 17, 2012

Reviewed by Emily Kjonaas

Deluge – Swell (Amazon MP3/iTunes)

Deluge is a church worship band hailing from Louisiana. They have yet to make a solid splash within the Christian music industry, but I don’t foresee that to be a problem.  Swell is the third CD for Deluge and is produced by Brent Milligan (who has produced artists such as Steven Curtis Chapman and Audio Adrenaline).

This album opens with “Lift Him High”, a song that really sets the tone for this record. Within a few seconds the listener is overcome with a sense that this album won’t be high-energy, nor will it have a “big band feel” that most music seems to have recently. The title track “Swell” comes in second followed by a personal favorite, “Your Joy”. By the fourth song on the record, “Coming On The Clouds”, I was really in worship mode. And then I got about 3 minutes and 40 seconds into the song when I wondered what happened. I started hearing some guy rap, something that I do enjoy on some songs, but this song could have done without it. It’s the only rap on the album, so it’s vary sparing, but I was confused to hear a few “uh’s” on a record such as this.

If you love instrumentation like I do, you’ll enjoy what comes next, “Simple Offering (Intro)”, which is what it says, an intro to the sixth track “Simple Offering”. The next four songs don’t really stand out to me in any particular way, but are great songs to worship to as well.

My favorite song, “We Respond”, is second to last on Swell. The lyrics “…with a passionate fire, burning inside us, we are worshipping You, we respond to glorious God that we love” makes the listener slow down, take a step back, and worship God. The last song “Healing Is Here” is a beautiful song that closes the album with finishing lyrics of “…I trust in You.” All I’m able to say about this song is “amen”.

If you are a fan of Hillsong United, you will probably enjoy Swell. I would’ve enjoyed it more had it been a studio record instead of a live version. But nonetheless, it’s a great worship record to have.

Score: 3/5

Track List:

  1. Lift Him High
  2. Swell
  3. Your Joy
  4. Coming On The Clouds
  5. Simple Offering (Intro)
  6. Simple Offering
  7. You Are Welcome
  8. All Lovers of Jesus
  9. He Rose
  10. 220 Song
  11. We Respond
  12. Healing Is Here

About Emily Kjonaas

Emily Kjonaas is from Moorhead, MN and is a reviewer for Christian Music Zine. Her favorite Christian band is Kutless and loves attending concerts. She is studying to be a nurse and loves her job as a caregiver. More Posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: