House of Heroes – Cold Hard Want (Review)

House of Heroes – Cold Hard Want (Review)


House of Heroes Cold Hard Want 1

Gotee Records

Release Date: July 10, 2012

Reviewed by Megan Missler

House of Heroes – Cold Hard Want [



About Megan Missler

Megan Missler lives in a one-stop-light town near Fort Wayne, Indiana with her husband Matt and two dogs. She is a music reviewer for Christian Music Zine covering alternative, indie, and punk rock. Her Top 5 bands are Five Iron Frenzy, House of Heroes, Disciple, Thousand Foot Krutch, and Lovedrug, but she has a rather eclectic musical taste. She is passionate about photographing concerts, being on her church's youth ministry staff, and all forms of worship and artistic expression. More Posts

37 Comments to “House of Heroes – Cold Hard Want (Review)”

  1. Sounds awesome! Can’t wait to get my copy!

  2. super original cover art

  3. Haha, 10 of the 13 tracks are recommended? It must be one good album. I’m definitely going to be checking this one out.

  4. Just received my preorder in the mail and it has the best booklet i’ve seen in a while

  5. Ronnie Hamilton // July 9, 2012 at 1:36 pm // Reply

    As of right now, it’s listed as $3.99 on Amazon MP3.

  6. Megan Missler // July 9, 2012 at 4:49 pm // Reply

    wow, you guys are getting a huge deal!!! That’s awesome!!!

  7. Jon Martinez // July 10, 2012 at 1:22 am // Reply

    Great review!! I’m listening to it now at work, and in between the in office chatter and police radio chatter, this album is WRECKING. I love it. This is now tied for my favorite HoH album along with TIENTE.

  8. This album is going to have to grow on me (hopefully), because it didn’t do it for me. Not digging it.

    I liked a few songs but they don’t hold a candle to my favorites by them from their previous records.

    I hate to be THAT person but…I miss their old styles from s/t and TEINTE. It seemed more raw and I don’t know real? This and Suburba just leave me feeling unsatisfied, especially this one.

    Not digging the production, too much or something. It just doesn’t align with what I thought was HOH’s signature sound and lyric style.

    I believe I am the black sheep here since everyone else on the planet seems to love the crap out of this cd. I want to like it, I just…don’t. :(

    (BTW, what happened to Jared Rigsby???)

    • it might be a grower for you, just keep pluggin away

      ummmmm he made babies?

      • Umm…have you blared it with the windows down yet? That might sell you. I mean I already loved the CD, but it took my love to a whole different realm when I blared it out the window.

        • Just make sure you do it on the way to a party or something as opposed to a place like the dentist because than you’ll bad connotations forever.

        • haha ok I havent blared it with my windows down yet that’s a good point, and I will make sure when I do that it’s a good destination!

      • I believe it may be a grower, this was just my initial run through of it so I’ll just keep trying.
        And I thought maybe he-jared-quit the band or maybe something crazy happened and I missed the memo about it lol

        • i know he left the band to be with family, but then missed the band and came back, i thought he was currently in the band

          • I think you might be talking about AJ Babcock, Jared is Colin’s brother…I don’t know ha I guess it’s really not important I was just curious

          • Megan Missler // July 13, 2012 at 9:50 am //

            I think you have Colin and Jared confused. I know that there was some kind of argument between Jared and the guys and he quit. But the band, as far as I know hasn’t officially addressed it. They just adjusted the line-up. He may come back?

          • possibly…i didn’t know about any of that

  9. uhhhh…why can’t this album be available on the Canadian iTunes??!!!

  10. Ronnie Hamilton // July 11, 2012 at 7:11 am // Reply

    This one will have to grow on me as well. It is hard to follow up Suburba for me. I’m ranking that as one of my favorite albums of all time, not just HOH. But I think after a few more listens I will enjoy this one quite a bit.

    • Ronnie Hamilton // July 11, 2012 at 3:05 pm // Reply

      And it’s growing on me. It’s getting better each time I listen. Lucas suggested listening to it blaring with the windows down, well I haven’t done that, but I did turn it up on the speakers at my house and it sounds great.

  11. Joe Mieden // July 11, 2012 at 1:45 pm // Reply

    Totally loving this. I have spun the disc about 10 times, and it has grown on me each time. I came in very skeptical that I would really like it, but feel (at this point) that this is my favorite House of Heroes album and just beyond TEINTE in my mind.

    I think they chose to push themselves musically and lyrically and it shows. Everything is just so tight. I have previously gotten annoyed in their previous work by some reoccurring lyrics (It seems like “baby” is in 50% of their previous songs) or stylistic choices that promote ambiguity and don’t communicate as well. It seems to me that these are toned down dramatically on this album and I think it’s a great step of maturity and growth in their craft.

    I think the first 9 tracks are absolutely great. I especially dig the production on this album; it’s just like you say in the review: “raw.” And in this case, raw is very good.

    Thanks for the review! Anyone who hasn’t heard it should find a way to listen to the whole thing. Or just buy it. I even bought a copy for my friend. It’s a great album.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: