Underoath Disbanding! Releasing Farewell Anthology

Underoath Disbanding! Releasing Farewell Anthology

Underoath Anthology

News Source: Black Lodge PR

Groundbreaking metalcore act UNDERØATH are formally announcing their plans to disband following a remarkable 15-year career that made a monumental impact on millions of fans and forever changed the face of heavy music.

“It’s sad to say that we feel like it’s time to close this chapter, but we have never seen things more clearly,” says vocalist Spencer Chamberlain. “These have been the best years of my entire life, and I owe that to every single person who ever supported this band along the way. This wasn’t a quick decision by any means. It’s just time for us to move on.”

The band is closing an era during which it served as a pillar of the heavy music scene. UNDERØATH formed an indelible bond with their massive fan base through relentless touring in front of sellout audiences on six continents, as well as the early adoption and mastery of social networking that helped bridge the divide between band and fan – resulting in the band becoming one of the first with 1 million ‘likes’ on Facebook as well as a tally of more than 70 million plays on MySpace.

The Tampa, Florida-based group released seven acclaimed albums in total – including the Gold-certified mid-2000s releases They’re Only Chasing Safety and Define the Great Line – that collectively yielded several groundbreaking videos, Grammy and Dove Award nominations and total sales in excess of 1.3 million units.

On the road to becoming one of hard rock’s biggest success stories, UNDERØATH created a deep and enduring culture surrounding its music and message and became that rarest of things in the music world: a band that actually meant something, to millions of fans around the globe.

UNDERØATH will cap its incredible run with the release of a career retrospective album, Anthology 1999-2013 – released November 6 on Solid State Records. With tracks culled from their 1999 debut, Act of Depression, through the instant classics on 2010’s Ø (Disambiguation), Anthology 1999-2013 is an essential collection of songs that celebrates the evolution of this seminal band.
Pushing Anthology 1999-2013 beyond a mere retrospective, the release gives fans one last chance to hear newly recorded material in the form of new tracks “Sunburnt” and “Unsound.” Recorded with longtime producer Matt Goldman, the two new songs represent the final material recorded by the band.

“Over the past decade or so of our lives, we have been able to live a dream traveling the world, playing music that excites us, and meeting more amazing people than we could have ever fathomed,” says keyboardist Chris Dudley. “This couldn’t be a more bittersweet moment for us. We have accomplished more, met more friends, seen more places and have just done more than we could have ever imagined, and we really wanted to just go out on the highest note possible. That’s why we have put together a group of great friends and musicians for what will be our final tour ever. We are taking every moment of this tour as an opportunity to say goodbye to you all, as well as celebrate what has taken place over all these years. The love we have and the debt of gratitude that we owe to all of you is not able to be measured in any way.”

That farewell tour will commence in 2013, featuring fan-favorite songs that span the entirety of UNDERØATH’s career. Further details to be announced next week.

“We don’t take this very lightly and it’s heartbreaking for all of us,” Chamberlain says of the band’s announcement, “but all good things must come to an end. We love all of you and hope to see you again soon.”


Anthology 1999-2013 track list:

About Tyler Hess

Tyler Hess has been running Christian Music Zine since he created the site in 2008. His favorite bands are Relient K, Bleach, Emery, House of Heroes, The Classic Crime, Children 18:3 and Anberlin. Twitter = @tylerscotthess More Posts

6 Comments to “Underoath Disbanding! Releasing Farewell Anthology”

  1. Sent By Ravens, Trip Lee, now this? Say it ain’t so…

    • Alastair Heinrichs // October 2, 2012 at 11:15 am // Reply

      A Plea For Purging, As Hell Retreats, In The Midst Of Lions, His Legacy, Venia, Philmont, The Forerunner, Copernicus, Holding Onto Hope… yea its been a tough year.

  2. My favorite band ever. This ruined my day, and perhaps the next few. Granted, calling tracks on Disambiguation “instant classics” is a stretch–I liked the album, but it wasn’t of the quality of the previous 2 releases. Man, I REALLY hope they get Aaron Gillespie in on this and have him play a few songs at each show.

    I’ve honestly never been to a concert outside of state/county fair country ones (which I stopped doing maybe 5 years ago when I grew out of country music), but if they get Aaron to play, I just might have to force a friend or two to go to it with me.

    Seriously, I don’t think this day could get any worse, unless someone I know actually dies.

  3. Joseph Montenegro Watema // October 3, 2012 at 1:19 am // Reply

    I don’t want 2 believe it….Disambiguation was some killer stuff!!!!!!

  4. I can’t listen to them anymore. But I did used to really enjoy them.
    Cool that the last song on their last album is the first song from their first album.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: